What is a Research Article?
A research article is a journal article in which researchers present the
results of an original research project, experiment, etc. Usually this
type of article is written by more than one person, since it typically
requires a team to design, carry out, and analyze the data from such a
research project. This type of article is then published in a journal devoted
to the particular field in which the research was performed.
Finding Research Articles
To find citations for research articles in your field, you should search
periodical indexes which index journals in that field. A good way to begin
is by searching general indexes, databases that index the periodicals from
many different fields, including your own. The general indexes most widely
used here at Grace Library are EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite and Wilson
Omnifile, both of which are available through the Grace Library home page.
Both of these databases index professional journals from many academic
disciplines, as well as a wide range of popular magazines. These indexes
supply the full text of many articles. If you need only a small number
of research articles, try these indexes first.
After typing in your search terms, but before you
actually run your search in either EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite or
Wilson Omnifile, be sure to
limit your search to professional journals only. To do this in Academic
Search Elite, scroll down the search screen, looking for the phrase “Scholarly
(Peer Reviewed) Journals,” and then click in the box following this.
Then click on “Search.” To do this on Wilson Omnifile, look
for “Limit to,” under which you will find the phrase “Peer
Reviewed.” Click in the box in front of this phrase. Then click on “Start” to
run your search. Limiting your search to professional journals will not
give you only research articles in your search result, but it will exclude
articles from magazines, so you will have fewer and more relevant citations
to sift through.
You can also find citations for research articles in subject specific
indexes, such as those on FirstSearch, a collection of databases available
in Grace Library. These are indexes that cover only the professional journals
of a given academic discipline. As a general rule, these do not supply
the full text of articles, only citations and abstracts. These indexes
should certainly be used if you are doing in-depth research on a topic,
but are probably not necessary if you need only a small number of articles.
If you need to use subject-specific indexes, a librarian can help you determine
which indexes to use to find research and other sorts of articles in your
field.
Recognizing Research Articles
Even after doing a successful search in an appropriate index you will still
have to determine which of the articles in your result list are research
articles and which are not. (Remember, all research articles are journal
articles, but not all journal articles are research articles.) So how can
you tell which journal articles are research articles?
- Does the article have multiple authors? As stated above, most articles
have multiple authors. If it has only one author it is probably not a research
article.
- How long is the article? If it is only one or two pages long, it is
probably not a research article. It is safe to say that research articles
are usually about a dozen or more pages in length.
- Read the abstract. Look for a sentence that says
something like, “In
this study, we…” or “We did research to find…” If
you see a sentence that says one of these things, or something similar,
this is a clear indication that you have found a citation to a research
article.
- Now look at the article itself. If the full text is available, display
it and scroll through it. If the full text is not available, find the article
in the print version of the journal and glance through it. Research articles
all follow the format below, no matter what the field of endeavor. Does
the article follow this format? Is the article divided into the parts listed
below? If so, you have found what the instructor is after.
The parts of a research article are:
- Abstract: Summarizes the article’s contents.
This is written by the author(s) of the article.
- Introduction: Orients
the reader. This will tell the reader why the authors performed their
particular research. The introduction usually
begins
with a literature review. The introduction does not receive a heading.
- Method:
Tells the reader how the research was conducted. This section may be
subdivided into subsections describing Materials, Apparatus,
Subjects,
Design, and Procedures.
- Results: Summarize the data collected.
- Discussion: The authors explain
how the data fits their original hypothesis, state their conclusions,
and look at the theoretical
and practical implications
of their research.
- References: Lists the complete bibliography of sources
cited in the research article.
Sometimes different but synonymous words are used to head the various
sections, but regardless of how the sections are headed, every research
article will contain the sections listed above.
Reference
Sternberg, R.J. (1993). The psychologist’s companion: A guide to
scientific writing for students and researchers (3rd ed.). Cambridge, England:
Cambridge University Press.
Tb
Back to Research Guide main page |