To search for books and videos on African American Biography and History in Grace Library go to http://library.carlow.edu and click on the link for Grace Library’s Online Catalog. Below is a selected list of particularly useful Reference Books dealing with this subject. All books located in the Reference Collection will have the abbreviation Ref. printed on the spine of the book above the call number.
- Appiah, Kwame Anthony, and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. New York: Basic Civitas, 1999.
CALL NUMBER: DT14 A37435 1999 located in the Reference Collection
- Bradley, David, and Shelley Fisher Fishkin, eds. The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 1998.
CALL NUMBER: E185.61 E544 1998 located in the Reference Collection
- Encarta Africana. CD-ROM. Redmond,WA: Microsoft Corporation, 1999.
CALL NUMBER: CD-ROM 11-CD located on the “pink” PC in the Grace Library Reference Area
- Estell, Kenneth. African America: Portrait of a People. Detroit: Visible Ink, 1994.
CALL NUMBER: E185.96 E87 1994 located in the Reference Collection
- Hine, Darlene C., ed. Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. Brooklyn: Carlson, 1993.
CALL NUMBER: E185.86 B542 1993 v.1-2 located in the Reference Collection
- Hornsby, Alton. Milestones in 20th Century African-American History. Detroit: Visible Ink, 1993.
CALL NUMBER: E185.6 H82 1993 located in the Reference Collection
- Mabunda, L. Mpho, ed. A Reference Library of Black America. Detroit: Gale, 1997.
CALL NUMBER: E185 .R44 1997 v.1-5 located in the Reference Collection
- Salzman, Jack. Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York: Simon &
Schuster Macmillan, 1996.
CALL NUMBER: E185 E54 1996 v.1-5 located in the Reference Collection
- Smith Jessie C. Black Firsts: 2,000 Years of Extraordinary Achievement. Detroit: Visible Ink, 1994.
CALL NUMBER: E185 B574 1994 located in the Reference Collection
- ________. Notable Black American Men. Detroit: Gale, 1999.
CALL NUMBER: E185.86 N68 1999 located in the Reference Collection
- ________. Notable Black American Women. Detroit: Gale, 1992.
CALL NUMBER: E185.86 N68 1992 located in the Reference Collection
tb
8/23/07
Back to Research Guide main page
|