Reference Books
- Andrews,
William L, ed. Oxford Companion to African American Literature. New
York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
CALL
NUMBER: Ref. PS153 N5 O96 1997
This
work provides concise, signed articles on authors, specific literary
works, themes, and other subjects. Articles range from one column
to four or five pages in length. Articles are alphabetically arranged. Contains
an index.
- Smith,
Valerie, ed. African American Writers, 2nd ed. New
York: Scribners, 2001.
CALL
NUMBER: Ref. PS953 N5 A344 2001 v. 1-2
This two-volume
set gives substantial biographical and critical information on 53 major African
American
writers. There are also essays on the slave narrative and the spiritual
autobiography. Arrangement is alphabetical by writer's last name. Bibliographies
on each writer are included. A special feature of the work is a chronology
of African American literary history.
- Magill,
Frank N., ed. Masterplots II: African American Literature
Series. Pasadena:
Salem, 1994.
CALL
NUMBER: Ref. PS153 N5 M2645 1994 v.1-3
This
is an excellent "first place to go" when looking for material
on a specific literary work. The three volume set, similar to most
Magill/Masterplot titles, is a collection of 266 critical essays on literary
works of all types by African American authors. Authors, like poets,
whose works lend them selves to a broader treatment, are discussed in "omnibus
essays" on the whole body of their work. There is an annotated
bibliography with each essay. At the beginning of each volume is
a list of the works covered in it. In Volume III there are title
and "type of work" indexes for the whole three volume set.
- Page,
James A. Selected Black American Authors: An Illustrated
Bio-Bibliography. Boston:
G.K. Hall, 1977.
CALL
NUMBER: Ref. PS153 N5 M2645 1994 v.1-3
This
work is an alphabetical listing by author's last name of information on
453 African American authors. Each entry consists of biographical
information on the writer, a list of their published works, and a photograph. The
honors and awards received by a writer are given. For writers of
prominence a brief "sidelight" or comment on their career or
work is provided. Included are title and subject indexes and a bibliography.
- Popkin,
Michael, comp. and ed. Modern Black Writers. New
York: Ungar, 1978.
CALL NUMBER: Ref. PN841 M58
This
work is made up of excerpts from critical writings on 80 African, African
American, and Afro-Caribbean authors of fiction, poetry, and drama. Essayists
are not included, nor are writers who compose in Spanish or Portuguese. This
volume seeks to reflect the current state (at least as of 1978) of these
authors' reputations. Well over half the excerpts of criticism are
by black writers. The 80 authors covered in this volume are arranged
alphabetically by last name. The critical excerpts within each section
are arranged chronologically. The source of each excerpt is given. At
the start of the book are lists of the authors covered, of the authors
by country, of the included authors as critics of each other, and a list
of periodicals from which excerpts have been selected. At the back
of the volume is a list of the works mentioned, and an index to the critics
from whose works excerpts have been taken.
Subject Headings
Some
subject headings to use in searching the Online
Library Catalog for information on African
American writers are:
- Afro-American
authors
- Afro-American
dramatists
- Afro-American
women in literature
- Afro-American
women--Poetry
- Afro-Americans
in literature
- American
drama--Afro-American authors
- American
fiction--Afro-American authors
- American
literature--Afro-American authors
- American
poetry--Afro-American authors
- Harlem
Renaissance
twb
Back to Research Guide main page |