Annual Reports and Financial
Information
Many companies will post all or part of their annual report and current financial
statements on their web page. For example, Ben and Jerry’s Homemade
Inc. ice cream company posts their current annual report, investor information
and a library of materials for persons doing research on their company: http://www.benjerry.com/our_company/research_library. To find a company’s Web address use a search
engine and
search using the company name.
If the company is a public company, financial information
may be available on the EDGAR database complied
by the Securities and Exchange Commission of the US Government.
The Annual Report Resource Center contains
more than 13,200 current and historical annual.
Journal and Magazine Articles
Grace Library offers a variety of online resources to use to find company information. In any of the databases listed below you should do a subject search
on the name of the company that you are researching. You may also want to expand
your search and do a subject search on the industry in which your company is
involved. For example, if you are researching Ben and Jerry’s you should
do a subject search for Ben and Jerry's and a second search for Ice Cream Industry.
Below is a listing of a few of the databases available to you:
Provides comprehensive access to indexing many business-related journals, many
of which are full
text. You can search Business Source Elite by
clicking on the Find Articles link on the library's homepage.
This database provides comprehensive full
text coverage for regional business publications. You may be able to find information
on smaller (mostly American) companies in this database. You can search Regional Business News by
clicking on the Find Articles link on the library's homepage.
There are many databases on FirstSearch
that can assist in business research. FirstSearch is available on the “Yellow” PC
located on the 2nd Level of Grace Library. Below are a few of the most helpful
indexes
in FirstSearch:
Business Dateline: This database will be helpful in searching for regional
business activities and trends as well as major stories on local firms, their
products and executives.
Business and Management Practices: This database provides coverage of more
than 795 core management journals and trade publications.
Disclosure: This database provides corporate and financial information on
corporations whose shares are traded in the U.S.
Worldscope: This database is derived from corporate annual and 10K reports,
disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Each record includes
a description of the business, selected financials, key ratios, and officers.
To see if Grace Library owns a periodical, check the
rolodex near the Reference Desk on the 2nd Level of Grace Library or search in the Journal Title List. The most recent issue of a periodical owned by Grace
Library is available on the 2nd Level. The back issues, whether loose or bound,
are located on the 4th Level.
Reference Sources and Books
Grace Library may own books about the company that you are researching. To
search for these you will need to do a subject search in the Online Library
Catalog.
Once the online catalog window has opened, enter in the name of the company into the Quick Search box, select subject from the drop down menu and click on the search button.
For example: Enter the phrase Ben and Jerrys into the Quick Search box, select subject from the drop down menu and click on the search button.
You can also do a broader subject search by entering in the name of the industry.
For example: Enter the phrase ice cream industry into the Quick Search box, select subject from the drop down menu and click on the search button.
The library owns a number of company directories which offer short informative entries for thousands of US companies. Below are some helpful directories (books located in the Reference Collection will have the abbreviation Ref. printed on the spine of the book above the call number):
Company Profiles for Students. Detroit : Gale.1999.
CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A155 -- 1999 vols. 1-2 located in the Ready Reference Collection
Corporate Directory. Gaithersburg, MD: Cambridge Information Group Directories. 2004.
CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A156 2004 located in the Reference Collection
Levine, Jeffery. Pittsburgh Business Directory. Pittsburgh, PA: Pittsburgh Business Times. 1995.
CALL NUMBER: HF5068.P56 L48 1995 located in the Reference Collection
Standard and Poor's Corporation. Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives. New York, Standard & Poor's Corp. 1999.
CALL NUMBER: HG4057 .A4 1999 vols. 1-3 located in the Reference Collection
06/08
Back to Research Guide main page
|