logo interior
COUNSELING PSYCHOLOGY RESEARCH
> Home > Grace Library
  SEARCH
News
Events Calendar
Map and Directions
Publications
Careers
Site Index
Contact Us / Directories

Journal Articles from EBSCOhost
Start at Grace Library’s web page http://library.carlow.edu.Click on the Periodical Indexes link and then the EBSCOhost link to see a list of all databases. You may search each of the following databases individually, or you may decide to search all three at once by clicking on the box to the left of each index title and then Continue at the bottom of the page.


PsychInfo has more than 2.4 million citations of scholarly information, but very little full text.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes 575 full text journal titles.
PsycARTICLES is the definitive source for scholarly journal articles from the American Psychological Association. There are 59 full text journal titles that go as far back as 1894.


Once you have reached the search screen for your database(s), type your search terms in the Find boxes. Before clicking the Search button to view your results, it is helpful to use the limits at the bottom of the page. By clicking on the boxes next to Grace Library Periodical Collection and Full Text your results list will include only citations of articles that you have access to in Grace Library. Also note that there are special limiters for each index that may be helpful in limiting your search even further, but remember that the more limits you set, the fewer results you will receive!


Looking at your results list, you will see ten short citations per page. Underneath each citation you have the item’s location information so you will know right away if it is a full text item, if the print item is on the shelf, or if we have no access to it from Grace Library. Click on the article’s title to view the full citation information or to see the article, click on the full text link.


The Counseling Psychologist
EBSCOhost will give you citations for articles from many different journals. One journal in particular that many researchers in this field are interested in is The Counseling Psychologist, which is owned in print at the library as well as electronically through the Grace Library Journal Title List .

To view the electronic version, start at the web page http://library.carlow.edu, and click on the Find Journal Titles link. In the next window, in the Find box, type The Counseling Psychologist and at the bottom of the page choose the Exact Match radio button. Click Search. The results page that you receive describes Grace Library’s holdings for this journal. By clicking the first option, Grace Library Electronic Periodical Collection, you will be able to browse through the current and all previous issues of The Counseling Psychologist through the publisher’s web page.


Find Books
To search for books about counseling psychology in Grace Library, start at the web page, http://library.carlow.edu, and click on Grace Library’s Online Catalog. For subject searching, it is most effective to browse through the subject headings list. To do this, click on the Power Search link that is located in the middle of the catalog’s main page. On the next page click on Browsing, which is located on the far right in the Catalog Searches box. In the next window, type counseling in the Browse on box and click the Subject button underneath.


Now you have a results list of all the subject headings of the Grace Library books that discuss counseling. You may browse through the subject headings list by clicking the previous and next links located at the top and the bottom of your results list. Once you choose a subject heading, click on it to see the book titles that Grace Library owns with that term. Note that there are also cross references to other subject headings.

If you would like to see all the books with counseling as the subject heading, click on the first result, Counseling.

Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings books for additional subject headings dealing with counseling. These books can be found near the Reference Desk on the 2nd Level of Grace Library.

Recommended Reference Books
All of these books are located in the Reference Area on the 2nd level of Grace Library. Each book will have the call number on the spine of the book beginning with Ref. to designate it as a reference material.


The SAGE handbook of counseling and psychotherapy. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2006.
CALL NUMBER: BF637 .C6 H3126 2006

Stewart, William, ed. An A-Z of counseling theory and practice. Cheltenham, UK: Nelson Thornes, 2001.
CALL NUMBER: BF 637. C6 S768 2001

Kazdine, Alan E., ed. Encyclopedia of psychology. Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
CALL NUMBER: BF 31. E52 2000

Craighead Edward W. & Nemeroff Charles B., eds. The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2001.
CALL NUMBER: BF 31. E52 2001

Recommended web sites
American Mental Health Counselors Association: http://www.amhca.org
The American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org
Mental Health America: http://www.nmha.org
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry: http://www.aacap.org
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy: http://www.aamft.org


06/08

 

Back to Research Guide main page

©2007 Carlow University 3333 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 1.800.333.CARLOW

Carlow University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 3624 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104. (267-284-5000)
The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the
US. Secretary of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.