To search for biographical and historical books and videos about women in Grace Library go to http://library.carlow.edu and click on the link for Grace Library’s Online Catalog. Below is a selected list of particularly useful Reference Books dealing with this subject. All books located in the Reference Collection will have the abbreviation Ref. printed on the spine of the book above the call number. |
African American
- Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. Brooklyn: Carlson, 1993.
Along with the biographical entries, this work presents 163 essays on historical
topics related to African Americans in general and African American women
in particular.
CALL NUMBER: E185.86 B542 1993 v.1-2 located in the Reference Collection
- Smith, Jessie Carnie, ed. Notable Black American Women. Detroit: Gale, 1992.
CALL NUMBER: E185.96 N68 1992 located in the Reference Collection
Artists
- Pettys, Chris. Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary
of Women Artists Born Before 1900. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985.
CALL NUMBER: N43 P47 1985 located in the Reference Collection
- Rideal, Liz.
Mirror, mirror : self-portraits by women artists. New York, NY : Watson-Guptill Publications, 2002.
CALL NUMBER:
N7618 .R53 2002 located in the Reference Collection
Athletes
- Woolum, Janet. Outstanding Women Athletes: Who They Are and How They Influenced
Sports in America. Phoenix: Oryx, 1992.
Before the alphabetical listings, this works presents two introductory chapters,
one giving an overview of women in American sports, and the other of women
in the Olympics.
CALL NUMBER: GV697 A1 W69 1992 located in the Reference Collection
Composers
- Cohen, Aaron I. International Encyclopedia of Women Composers. New York:
Bowker, 1981.
This work contains a photographic section after the alphabetical entries.
CALL NUMBER: ML105 C7 located in the Reference Collection
Heads of State
- Jackson, Guida M. Women Who Ruled. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1990.
CALL NUMBER: D107 J33 1990 located in the Reference Collection
Mathematicians
-
Women of Mathematics: A Biobibliographic Sourcebook. New York: Greenwood,
1987,
CALL NUMBER: QA28 W66 1987 located in the Reference Collection
- Yount, Lisa
A to Z of women in science and math. New York, NY : Facts on File, c1999.
CALL NUMBER:
Q141 .Y675 1999 located in the Reference Collection
Native Americans
- Bataille, Gretchen M. Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary. New York : Routledge, 2001.
CALL NUMBER:
E98.W8 B38 2001
located in the Reference Collection
Philosophers
- Kersey, Ethel M. Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book. New York:
Greenwood, 1989.
CALL NUMBER: B105 W6 K47 1989 located in the Reference Collection
Scientists
- Ogilvie, Marilyn Bailey. Women in Science: Antiquity Through the Nineteenth
Century: A Biographical Dictionary with Annotated Bibliography. Cambridge,
Mass: MIT Press, 1986.
CALL NUMBER: Q141 O34 1986 located in the Reference Collection
Selected Subject Headings
To search for books and videos about women in Grace Library go to the Library Online
Catalog. Once the online catalog window has opened, enter in one of the subject headings listed below into the Quick Search box, select subject from the drop down menu and click on the search button. This is only a partial list of the most likely headings. Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings for others
- Afro-American Women--Biography
- Indians of North America--Women--Biography
- Women Artists--Biography
- Women Athletes--Biography
- Women Authors--Biography
- Women Composers--Biography
- Women Musicians--Biography
6/07
Back to Research Guide main page |